Eric Corne’s Happy Songs For The Apocalypse Brims With Ideas And Opposition

Listen To First Single “Ridin’ With Lady Luck” Featuring Blues Guitar Maestro Walter Trout Here

February 22, 2018 - Eric Corne’s new album Happy Songs for the Apocalypse, out April 20th on his rising L.A.-based label Forty Below Records, is a patchwork of Americana; drawing on folk, blues and rock n’ roll with tinges of alt country. Lyrically, the album is an indictment of a world careening into a second gilded age, numbed by new technologies and the false hope of materialism. “It seems the future's running a little late/and I'm driving backwards through a different day,” sings Corne on “Pull String to Inflate.” The song features lead guitar by long-time Mavis Staples axman, Rick Holmstrom, one of many top-shelf sidemen Corne calls on to animate this ambitious collection of songs.

Sonically, Happy Songs for the Apocalypse is a vibrant production, brimming with horns, violins, tack piano, pedal steel, dulcimer, accordion, harmonica and Theremin. Emotionally it runs the gamut, one moment reveling in heartache “Take this Ashen Heart and sweep it to the wind. I know it will never beat again.” The next, flush with optimism: “I've got a notion that they can't kill/There ain't no potion/There ain't no pill/Like a Locomotion, you can't sit still on a wave.”

Founder and President of Forty Below Records, Corne is an award winning producer/engineer and songwriter with over a half dozen top 5 Billboard Blues albums to his credit, including a recent #1 for Walter Trout’s duets album, We’re All in This Together. Corne’s resume also includes recording the likes of John Mayall, Joe Walsh, Edgar Winter, C.J. Chenier, Kim Deal (The Pixies), Glen Campbell, Lucinda Williams, Nancy Wilson (Heart), Joe Bonamassa, John Doe (X), Michelle Shocked, and Devotchka.

Some of the talented young artists Corne is working with at Forty Below Records include breakout country artist Jaime Wyatt, a gifted singer and songwriter featured in a wide cross section of national and international press ranging from Rolling Stone, Billboard and Entertainment Weekly to The BBC and The Associated Press. Singer songwriter KaiL Baxley has been featured on NPR’s World Café and All Songs Considered and was called “Your new favorite artist” by Huffington Post and hailed by American Songwriter as “A major talent. Most of this is like nothing we’ve heard before.”  Sam Morrow has been recognized by Rolling Stone and Wide Open Country as an artist to watch in 2018 and referred to as “One of country music’s most intriguing new voices,” by LA Weekly. In 2014, Corne signed classic rock luminary and Blues Hall of Fame member John Mayall to Forty Below Records, producing three studio albums together and currently working on a fourth.

Also featured on the album is former Bob Dylan/k.d. lang guitarist Freddy Koella on fiddle, My Morning Jacket keyboardist Bo Koster, Fitz & the Tantrums bassist Joe Karnes, multi instrumentalist Nick Luca (Calexico, Iron & Wine), Doug Pettibone (Lucinda Williams) on dobro, Skip Edwards (Dwight Yoakam) on keys and pedal steel, drummers Blair Sinta (Alanis Morissette, James Blunt), arranger David Ralicke (Dengue Fever, Beck)  and Matt Tecu (Cat Power, Jakob Dylan) and two mainstays of Corne’s productions, guitarist Eamon Ryland and keyboardist Sasha Smith.


For more information on Eric Corne, please contact Rob Krauser at REK Room Media, or 917.703.8361.